If you decide to file for divorce in Humboldt County, California, your experience will depend entirely on the type of marriage dissolution you are going to have and the way you choose to approach it.The simplest option would be filing for uncontested divorce, and using an online service to do it.

Options for Filing in Humboldt County, California

Cost

Timeline

Contested Divorce

$12,000-$30,000 for each spouse.

Hard to predict. Usually around 1 year.

Online Divorce

Under $1,000

The shortest one that divorce laws in California allow.

Uncontested Divorce

Around $5,000

A few months on average.

Free forms

When choosing which Humboldt County divorce papers to file, it is important to consider every aspect of your case. Having children or different types of assets and debts will significantly change the set of documents you will be required to submit. You will find some of the common divorce forms required to file in Humboldt County, California, below.

***Note that these forms are an example of the documents that you will be required to fill out. In general, the court will oblige you to file more than 15 divorce forms depending on the complexity of your case.***

Couples who cannot reach an agreement on financial, property, and child-related aspects of their divorce will have to file for contested marriage dissolution. The only way they can end their marriage is by hiring lawyers and paying them huge sums for advocating on their behalf.

Those who are in agreement, can file for uncontested divorce in Humboldt County, California, either with or without a lawyer. Those who do not want to hire an attorney can save both time and money by getting online divorce in California.

Pros of ordering with OnlineDivorcer:

  • Affordable prices
  • 100% court approval guarantee
  • Free filing instructions
  • Full package of documents
  • Expedited service
  • Up-to-date forms
  • Flat fee regardless of the number of children
Check eligibility

Divorce Courts in Humboldt County, California

Humboldt County Superior Court

Court Address:

421 I Street, Eureka, California 95501

Phone:

707-445-7256

Fax:

707-445-7041

Clerk Hours:

9am-2pm

Website:

humboldtgov.org

Helpful tips

If some of the information seems unclear, it might be necessary to contact the Humboldt County court clerk. You might want to consider asking about:

  • Any additional forms that might be required specifically by this court.
  • Filing fees and other court-related expenses that you might have to cover.
  • Recent changes or updates that have not yet been reflected on their website.

While court clerks cannot provide legal advice, they can be very helpful when it comes to factual questions about court procedures and processes.

Humboldt County Notaries

Comparing fees, locations, and availability of notaries in Humboldt County, California, as well as how well they answered your questions will help you make an informed decision and choose the most suitable notary for your situation. Here is the list of county notaries in the area:

Daniele Hoffman

Rio Dell, CA
Phone: 707-616-2197 · Cell: 707-616-2197

Eric Wheeler

Fortuna, CA
Phone: 707-502-9129 · Cell: 707-502-9129

Tessa Ellebrecht

Fortuna, CA
Phone: 707-502-7589

Richard Vega

McKinleyville, CA
Phone: 707-246-5100

Kathleen Nicolds Carterby

Eureka, CA
Phone: 707-845-2776

Cheryl Franco

Eureka, CA
Phone: 707-601-3477

Kent Froblom

Eureka, CA
Phone: 707-407-8096

Kim Counts

Eureka, CA
Phone: 707-497-7414 · Cell: 707-497-7414

Tony Vinh Luong

Arcata, CA
Phone: 707-845-4096

Helpful tips

  • Before settling on a specific notary in Humboldt County, consider contacting them to inquire about the price of their services and ask if any additional documents are needed
  • Fill out all the necessary fields in the forms beforehand. You will not be able to change or add new information to the papers after they are notarized.
  • Sign the documents in front of a notary public. As notaries have legal liability to confirm the validity of your signature, you can put it down on the form only in their presence.
  • Bring an ID or a driver’s license for verification purposes. Make sure that the form of identification you are carrying has your signature on it so thata notary can compare it with the one you are going to put on the paperwork.

Child Support Services

Please note that this section will only be useful for spouses filing for divorce with children in California.

Feel free to use the link provided on the page to review information regarding California child support guidelines and payments. You are also welcome to use the contact information of the child support division if you have any specific inquiries. Before making a call, please note that you will find answers to the most common questions on their website, no matter if you are the one who will be receiving or paying child support in Humboldt County.

County name: Sacramento County

Phone: 866-901-3212

Address: Department of Child Support Services
P.O. Box 419064
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9064

Website: https://childsupport.ca.gov