In order to dissolve your marriage in this state, it’s necessary to know all about the legal rules on this matter. This will prepare you for the possible difficulties that may occur during the process. On the whole, you’ll have two options when separating with your life partner in this state – to receive a contested breakup or to opt for a more preferable alternative and go through an uncontested divorce.
In line with the divorce laws in Alaska, you’ll need to find legal grounds for the future dissolution. These may be either fault-based or faultless. It is easier if you choose to resolve this matter without accusing your spouse of any wrongdoing. However, if your case is complicated, Alaska divorce law will require you to provide fault-related explanations of your breakup, including:
In these cases, you must blame your partner for some kind of misdeed. But if you want to simplify matters, it’s best to reach the marriage dissolution based on faultless grounds. When talking about divorce in Alaska, laws specify that the grounds may be ‘no-fault’, which means that you can divorce because of the “incompatibility of temperament”. And even if your partner doesn’t agree to terminate your marriage, you can still request the procedure through the court.
What’s more, Alaska state laws on divorce oblige couples to meet particular requirements before the proceedings begin. These include residency demands:
According to the Alaska laws on divorce, if the petitioner doesn’t reside within the state’s borders and the spouses got married somewhere else but the defendant is a citizen of Alaska, you can still ask for a divorce and start the procedure.
Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.
Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.
Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.
The process itself begins as soon as the papers are delivered to the court and accepted by the judge. First, you’ll have to file the petition and serve a copy to your spouse. After that, the defendant has 20 days to give an answer to your claim.
If you don’t get a response, the petitioner can apply for a default breakup. As a rule, there is a waiting term of up to 30 days, during which your breakup will be validated and the judge will sign the decree for the dissolution.
To get an uncontested breakup in Alaska, it’s also important to resolve all the disputable problems with your spouse, like the division of personal items, child and spousal support and others.
Alaska is a state where you can split up based on the infidelity of your partner. However, according to the Alaska State divorce laws on adultery, the wrongful behavior of one spouse doesn’t affect such things as the alimony provided to the affected partner. As a result, the judge won’t consider the act of adultery as a good enough reason to assign alimony in favor of the innocent spouse.
Contact our experts to learn how you can get divorced in Alaska quickly and easily.
Full package of documents
100% court approval
Up-to-date formsCheck eligibility