The divorce process in Indiana is rather simple, so if you and your spouse came to an agreement on all issues, you won’t face any problems and will easily get your divorce. Still, there are certain details that need to be considered in order to finalize the marriage successfully.
In Indiana, divorce law requires that at least one of the partners has lived in the state for at least 180 days. Also, at least one of the partners needs to reside in the county where the claim for divorce was completed for at least 90 days.
According to divorce law, Indiana State requires spouses to start the divorce process by submitting specific documents in the local court and paying the service charge. As soon as your paperwork is successfully completed, there is a two-month waiting period until your marriage is legally ended. If you are unable to reach an agreement with your partner, be ready to go to court. For couples with children under 18, divorce laws in Indiana involve reconciliation meetings in order to find a reasonable solution on childcare and financial support.
Apart from the division of property, Indiana divorce statutes are considerably specific. State of Indiana divorce laws claim that the common property needs to be divided evenly. If the partners cannot reach an agreement, both of them must be present at a dissolution session. Otherwise, the court will make a decision on behalf of both parties. Thus, Indiana divorce laws regarding property encourage divorcing couples to split the shared assets on their own, because the final decisions made by the judge usually satisfy none of the parties.
According to Indiana divorce laws, alimony is determined on the basis of the specific needs of one partner and financial capabilities of the other. Thus, alimony is required for the partner that can’t work for certain reasons for a temporary or permanent basis.
Even though Indiana divorce laws regarding inheritance define it as marital assets, it doesn’t necessarily need to be split between partners upon dissolution. As a result, this case will require in-depth consideration of whether inheritance can be split equally. Thus, the legislative body will aim to generate the most reasonable property sharing solution possible.
Compared to other states that consider fault-based reasons for dissolution, infidelity is not recognized as a reason for divorce in Indiana. Still, the divorce laws in Indiana for infidelity state that this aspect may affect the final decisions on property sharing. Thus, you have more chances to receive alimony if your spouse’s cheating is proven. When it comes to infidelity, there can be a slight benefit for one of the partners, although it won’t be treated as a decisive factor in the distribution of assets. Furthermore, the attempts to prove a partner’s infidelity often lead to legal penalties.
Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.
Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.
Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.
Your divorce process in Indiana can be started only if you or your partner reside in the state for at least 180 days. If that is the case, you should specify the legal reason for ending your marriage. To continue the divorce process, Indiana State asks you to submit specific documents and send the copies to your partner. Within two months, your partner can specify the changes he or she would like to make to the divorce papers. If no agreement can be reached, the court may need to intervene. The property and other assets that you have to share will most likely be handled in a set of court sessions. The same routine will be required for child support matters. If you want to save time and money, we are here to help you with the paperwork.
Once the divorce petition is filed, you will need to wait 60 days for your divorce to be finalized. Within this time, there are some temporary orders that can be issued by the legislative body. For instance, you can ask the court to spend some time with your child. If your dissolution is unbearable for both parties, your case can be sent to mediation in order to come to an agreement.
The fault-based grounds for starting the dissolution process are limited to three reasons: felony, a diagnosis of insanity and impotency. If your case doesn’t fall into these categories, you have to refer to a no-fault reason to end your marriage. If you choose a no-fault divorce, you just need to state that your marriage is irretrievably broken.
Full package of documents
100% court approval
Up-to-date formsCheck eligibility