Do you qualify?

Do you know the location of your spouse?

Can you and your spouse agree to the division of property, assets and all child related issues?

/

When you are facing a breakup, it can be a difficult task to handle. This process is often very confusing, so there is always a risk that at some point you’ll make a mistake, especially if you don’t know the rules. If you live in the state of Missouri, you should be aware of the requirements listed in the MO divorce laws, as understanding the details will help you avoid possible difficulties or errors.

What’s more, you should also understand that it’s quite natural to have some questions regarding such a complicated procedure as a divorce. But if you’ve made up your mind to split up with your partner and are ready to start the Missouri divorce process, it is best to do everything correctly and smoothly from the start.

After all, no one wants to face problems during the breakup process. That’s the most important reason why good knowledge of the state of Missouri divorce laws is very useful for anyone who’d rather choose to handle it with minimal effort. Learning more about the legal rules will help you get a clear idea of what you should expect from the process as well as how to avoid making unwanted errors throughout the breakup.

Below you’ll find the details about the main divorce laws for Missouri residents that must be followed to get through the process easily and effortlessly.

What you should know about divorce laws in Missouri

The first thing to remember about local laws is that it is easier for you to handle the procedure if you get along with each other and can achieve a consensus about everything concerning the dissolution. But if you disagree about some aspects related to marriage, your way ahead could be long, difficult and rather costly, and you may have to undergo endless trials in court.

As for the grounds for divorce in Missouri, you’ll be happy to learn that this state is a no-fault state. This means that if you think it’s impossible to save your marriage but you are on good terms with your spouse, you may choose an uncontested breakup and deal with this issue much more easily and without excess costs. It is not necessary to accuse your partner of any misdeeds or give any evidence to the court regarding the breakdown of your marriage.

However, there are certain Missouri State divorce laws according to which the court may decide to dissolve your marriage. Consider the following points regarding the grounds for the breakup:

  • One of the reasons for divorce could be the inability of one spouse to put up with the behavior of the other.
  • Missouri divorce laws on abandonment say that you can get divorced if you were abandoned by your spouse for a period of six months or more before you apply for the dissolution procedure.
  • You can divorce if one of the spouses became engaged in criminal activity.
  • In line with Missouri divorce law on adultery, the commitment of adultery by one spouse is regarded as a reason to get divorced.
  • Separation of the spouses for at least 24 months (or one year if both spouses find it necessary) can serve as a favorable factor for getting a divorce.

As stated in Missouri divorce law, you also need to meet the residency demands if you wish to split up in this state. Thus, you should have been a local resident for at least 90 days, which is often a standard for many states.

Three easy steps to get divorced in Missouri:

01

Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.

02

Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.

03

Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.

Important details about the divorce process in Missouri

Even though this state is no-fault and it is not always necessary to provide fault-related reasons for divorce, there are still many aspects to consider when dissolving the marriage. As a general rule, Missouri divorce procedures include solving such problems as the distribution of belongings and debts, resolving questions about child support and visitation as well as dealing with the issue of spousal support if necessary.

After you solve these and other problems, you may start the process by doing the following:

  • Complete the petition and file it with the court.
  • Inform your spouse about the initiation of the process and provide him/her with the relevant papers.
  • In line with MO divorce law, you should also pay the filing fees, which are established according to the local court’s requirements.

After all this, your case will come into action. To guarantee that you do everything correctly, it’s best to make sure you follow all Missouri divorce rules applicable to your case. Fortunately, the process is much simpler if you apply for the breakup online. Feel free to request the completion of your paperwork online from our service.

These are the benefits of having OnlineDivorcer.com take care of your documents:

Affordable prices

Full package of documents

100% court approval

Expedited service

Up-to-date forms

Check eligibility