Before applying to the court it is strongly recommended to make sure that you comply with domicile rules: 6 months in the state and 3 months in the county are the mandatory conditions in this case. In addition, there are a few other Texas divorce rules to learn before going to court.
Reasons - You can initiate a marriage dissolution process only for the reasons covered by divorce law in Texas. They are 7 in total, and while most of them are connected with a certain wrongdoing and may affect the decision when dividing the property or influence the process duration, two of those (living apart and insupportability) are considered no-fault – they don’t require any proof and are the most common.
Waiting periods - Divorce can be officially finalized no sooner than sixty days after submitting the petition to the court. In addition, the parties cannot enter into new marital relationships for another thirty-one days, except with each other.
Property division rules - Property obtained in marital relationships shall be considered common and, in most cases, will be equally shared between the spouses, except for those assets which were:
The Texas divorce process can be broken down into the following steps:
Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.
Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.
Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.
TX common law marriage has the same legal status as the official ceremonial type. To enter into such marriage, the following three conditions must be met:
In case they decide to terminate their relationships and want to take advantage of the legal provisions relating to property, they will have to file for official marriage dissolution.
Common law divorce in TX is pretty much the same as official divorce with one significant difference – the parties must provide evidence that they need a divorce due to a common law marriage in Texas. If they do, debts and common assets will be divided between them under the state of Texas divorce laws. If not, the parties will be considered single and their property personal.
Full package of documents
100% court approval
Up-to-date formsCheck eligibility