In TX, marriage dissolution can be of two types: contested and uncontested. The former occurs when the parties disagree regarding their property, child custody or visitation rights and includes a court trial, while the latter represents a much more simplified procedure.
It is a faster and more convenient way to dissolve marriage when the spouses are able to settle all their disputes with each other and avoid going to trial. It requires less paperwork, has a lower cost and most likely you can manage without an attorney.
To qualify for this type of marriage dissolution, the spouses must meet these two criteria:
In other words, all issues regarding common assets, debts, alimony, and child-related matters must be debated prior to submitting the divorce petition with the court.
The cost of an uncontested divorce in Texas greatly depends on how you choose to do it. Getting a family law attorney is the easiest way; it may cost a fortune, though. The hourly rate of an average lawyer is several hundred dollars and it is doubtful whether it is worth the effort or not. Whatever the case, the state doesn’t prohibit hiring an attorney for consultancy purposes, and it may be a good choice to have someone qualified review the documents. Consultancy services are usually more affordable.
However, in order to have a really cheap uncontested divorce in Texas, one should consider preparing all the paperwork themselves. Luckily, the procedure is quite straightforward and there are many online services that can help. Some offer only legal advice services, while others offer assistance throughout the process.
The average cost of an uncontested divorce in Texas usually amounts to a few hundred dollars.
There are quite a few uncontested divorce papers in Texas, and they are different depending on the case. For instance, couples with or without minor children will need different documents. You can learn which papers exactly to submit from our online filing service and get professional legal help with your filing situation.
One way or another, the documents that go in every kit include the Petition, Respondent’s Answer, Waiver of Service and Final Decree.
No hidden fees
Step-by-step filling procedures
Money back guarantee
To file in Texas, one must either have a domiciliary of the state or be a military service member stationed in TX state for no less than 6 months. They must also have lived continuously in the county where the proceedings will take place for 3 months. These rules are obligatory for both parties.
If you qualify, do some research to find out which court has jurisdiction over your case and decide how you want to do it. You are allowed to file uncontested divorce forms in Texas using an online procedure but keep in mind that not all courts have this option, so it is recommended you look over this matter beforehand.
As soon as all the necessary information is collected, the process will go as follows:
Hereafter the marriage will be dissolved and the parties are considered not married. TX legislation doesn’t allow the spouses to enter into a new marriage for another 31 days.
Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.
Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.
Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.