The state of Indiana has a standard procedure for uncontested divorce; however, it is important to make sure that the divorce is eligible to be ‘uncontested’. It means that both spouses have agreed upon all aspects of the divorce. You can get this type of divorce if you have already reached a consensus on claims regarding property, money, child custody and separation.
The procedure of an uncontested divorce in Indiana requires at least one of the partners to be a resident of Indiana for at least half a year. However, it is also necessary to consider the particular county you are submitting documents for divorce. At least one party should have lived there for the previous 3 months (90 days) before submitting.
The next step is to file the correct forms for your state. There are different types of forms and additional information that might be required, especially when kids are involved. We are going to provide you with the forms needed for your case and state. Moreover, we will make sure the process is hassle-free and you won’t need to obtain all the documents yourself. You will need to fill out two versions of one form: the white copy is open for publicity, and the green copy contains private and sensitive data. After you’ve filed the uncontested divorce papers in Indiana, the case is officially open and you become the petitioner.
As soon as you have signed the papers, please make sure to send a copy of the forms to your partner. The documents that confirm that there is no need for an official hearing and proving the uncontested nature of the divorce will be needed later, so don’t file those just yet. You just need to bring them to the court and submit them to the court’s clerk.
It is important to know that there are no family courts in the state of Indiana. Indiana has a superior court and departments that focus on family cases. These departments are divided into judicial districts. If you fail to bring the papers to the correct district, they might be rejected and the process will start all over again. Please note that there is a filing fee at the county clerk’s office and in Indiana this fee is usually under $200.
No hidden fees
Step-by-step filling procedures
Money back guarantee
According to Indiana laws, the process of divorce cannot be completed until 60 days after you provided all Indiana uncontested divorce forms that are correctly filled out and signed. After that you need to bring the remainder of the documents (as mentioned above) and submit them to the court’s clerk (don’t forget to add forms regarding children, if applicable), and two envelopes: one for you and one for your partner.
The clerk will put a stamp on the envelopes for the judge’s consideration of the case. The judge should sign that both people approve of the divorce and will provide you with the main document that indicates the divorce is complete. Later, both ex-partners should receive paperwork via regular mail.
To save both time and money, you’re welcome to use the help of our experts. We will prepare all the documents needed and will guide you through the whole process so that you can finish the paperwork in no more than 30-60 minutes depending on the complexity of your case.
Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.
Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.
Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.