guarantee of court
full divorce packet
for the best price
Top-rated online divorce service in Virginia
All kinds of divorce papers
Simple and affordable divorce solution
100% court approval guarantee
No legal knowledge required
If you have already made the tough decision to divorce, get acquainted with the options you can choose in the state of Virginia:
Virginia laws require filling out lots of forms depending on each specific case. If you are not a lawyer, you might find it difficult to find and fill them all out properly. The problem is that any incorrect form will be rejected by the court, along with all the other documents. If you don’t want to waste your time filing the paperwork over and over again, use OnlineDivorcer.
We have been helping spouses in Virginia to get their legal forms filled out successfully for more than 12 years. Working with us, rest assured that you will get a full package of up-to-date divorce documents prepared specifically for your case for the best price on the market.
To file for uncontested divorce,
you will have to complete
If you have decided to file for an uncontested divorce without any legal support and do not know where to start, don’t worry. You can follow these steps in order to file successfully:
Check if you qualify for uncontested divorce.
Fill in a simple questionnaire on our website.
Print and sign your paperwork before filing.
Taking into account the fact that hiring a divorce lawyer is quite expensive, many couples consider getting a DIY divorce in Virginia. However, is this option really the best one can opt for? Let’s review it to find out:
Save thousands of dollars
Get a full package of filled out papers effortlessly
100% court approval guaranteed
Only up-to-date forms
Friendly support team
While there are dozens of forms that may be needed for your specific case, we have decided to provide you with the most commonly used ones:
In order to get your Virginia forms filled out, you will need to have the following information on your hands:
You have to file a Complaint in the circuit court of your county. The paperwork then has to be sent to your spouse by a sheriff or process server.
Either spouse must live in the state for at least 6 months prior to filing if a couple has no children, and for 1 year if there are children in a marriage.
There is no waiting period in the state. However, spouses should be separated for 6 months, or 1 year if they have children to be granted a divorce.
Free form changes
Doesn’t require legal background
Can be done from home
Divorcing parents have quite a few things to consider when filing for a marriage dissolution:
I’m satisfied with what I got. Great for those who do not want to spend all their money on lawyers.
I really appreciate all the divorce help I received from this company. Very good service and a small price to pay for so much paperwork!
Wasn’t sure I can trust a website to get the legal stuff right but it was much cheaper than the alternatives and the reviews were positive. They sent my documents on time and the court accepted them so I can vouch for this website now.
Can I file for divorce in Virginia without hiring a lawyer?
Sure. However, you need to be in a full agreement with your ex so that you can file for and finalize your divorce without legal help.
How to file for divorce in Virginia by myself?
Just follow these steps:
Where to file for an uncontested divorce in Virginia?
You have to file in the circuit court in the county of your residence.
What Virginia divorce forms do you need to start a divorce?
Here is a list of basic forms. Depending on your specific case, you will likely need more documents:
How much is a divorce in Virginia?
Filing fees are approximately $100, varying from county to county, and you will also have to pay a fee for serving your spouse, which is going to be around $20. The average cost of divorce in Virginia with a lawyer is about $14,500 depending on a case. You can always avoid paying that much by choosing to divorce amicably and getting your documents done by an online service.
How long does a divorce take in Virginia?
There is no mandatory waiting period in the state.
What are the residency requirements for getting a divorce in Virginia?
Either spouse must be a resident and have domiciled in VA for at least 6 months prior to filing, or 1 year if there are kids in a marriage.
Can I download other virginia divorce forms online for free?
We provide only three samples of free printable uncontested divorce forms in virginia for you to realize how much time you will spend filling 15 of them out on your own.
Where can I find more details regarding legal aspects of my divorce?
Please review virginia divorce laws for further information.
We've got you covered
50 States and Washington, D.C.
3141 Counties and county equivalentsGet divorce online
We take no responsibility for the samples of free do-it-yourself divorce papers in virginia that you can download from our website. All samples of free virginia divorce papers have been prepared for general informational purposes only and cannot be filed with the court.