If you are a resident of Tennessee and, unfortunately, face some marital problems, you may start checking the divorce laws in Tennessee to see how you can become single again. Divorce law in TN might seem difficult at first, but after taking a closer look, most people realize that ending their marriage can be quite simple. For example, in Tennessee, divorce law allows uncontested divorce, which does not require a lot of time and effort, and is also less dramatic than a contested divorce. The perk of this option is also the fact that one might not have to hire a lawyer.
In the state of Tennessee, divorce laws might seem similar to those of other states; however, it is very important to follow the regulations of the state of your residence only. Do not take advice from those who got legal assistance in any other state, as it might not be applicable in your case. Moreover, take the matters seriously and act only according to the divorce laws. Tennessee courts might post useful information on their websites, so check what’s on there, too.
Keep in mind that even though taking legal action can be pretty expensive, the court will not leave a spouse without a single dime after the separation. For example, in the state of TN, divorce laws allow and provide for alimony, which one spouse pays to the other after separation. It pretty much means that in Tennessee State, divorce laws do not leave the divorcee without any finances to get back on track. However, not everyone can file for separation in the state of Tennessee. Divorce laws allow the courts to only resolve cases filed by the residents of the state. According to the divorce laws in Tennessee, being a resident of the state for at least 6 months allows a person to file a case.
Many people wonder if hiring a lawyer to represent them is required. Neither party is required to have an attorney according to the divorce laws in TN. However, it might be in your best interest to get some sort of legal help just to make sure everything is being done and drafted correctly. You do not want to risk losing your time and money by taking the wrong steps.
Some people consider getting an annulment and wonder if this option is allowed by Tennessee marriage laws. Divorce, is a much more common procedure than annulment, which can only happen if strict conditions are met. So, unless your case is rather extraordinary (illegal marriage caused by fraud, etc.), annulment is not at the best option.
If you want to end your marriage and are ready to take legal action against your partner, you should become acquainted with the divorce process in Tennessee. The first required step is to fill out all the necessary paperwork and then file it. Our service might be useful for taking the pressure off you while completing the papers. Copy the documents to make sure every party involved (you, your spouse, and the court) receives the papers. Remember: when you take the documents to the county clerk, you will be paying a filing fee right away, so be prepared to face some expenses. After that, it is your responsibility to ensure your partner is informed of what is going on, so mail the documents to them. You can publish a legal notice if you are not aware of your ex’s location, however, this is more expensive. You will also be required to fill in the “Request for Divorce,” and the soonest this request can be satisfied is 60 days. After this period passes, the long-awaited hearing of your case can be scheduled. Of course, the spouse who initiated the divorce must be present in court, but it is highly desirable that the other party make an appearance. As you can see, in TN, the divorce process does not always have to be complicated.
Once the couple is looking for a way out of their marriage, they should be informed of the legal grounds for divorce in Tennessee. This state allows various approaches. For example, spouses can get a no-fault divorce if they state the continuation of their marriage is impossible due to their different views and opinions on important life matters. Basically, it means that the couple does not get along anymore. A perk of this approach is that neither partner must prove wrongdoings on the part of their spouse. No blaming, no scandals, just a quiet termination of their marriage.
The couple is also allowed to turn to the court and base their case on the separation. However, this is a bit more difficult, as one of the requirements is that there are no children under 18 years of age involved. Moreover, the court will need evidence that the spouses have resided separately for at least 2 years and they have not cohabited as spouses, either.
In the state of Tennessee, grounds for divorce vary, and you should know there is also an option of a fault divorce. This comes in handy when either partner can prove that their partner is at fault for the collapse of their marriage. The possible faults are impotence, adultery, desertion, attempted murder of the other partner, bigamy, and a felony conviction. Substance abuse and violence could also work as reasons. Note that this list is not strictly limited.
Check your eligibility by answering a few simple questions.
Provide us with the information necessary to complete your paperwork.
Download and print out the documents. Sign and file them with the court.
According to Tennessee divorce laws, adultery and alimony are the two A-matters that are intrinsically related, as is one is affected by the other. As we have discussed previously in the article, in many cases courts oblige one spouse to financially support the other after divorce. Sometimes, these alimony payments might last until the supported ex either marries someone else or dies. Obviously, if the supported spouse is at fault for the termination of the marriage because they committed adultery, the other partner should have no desire to provide financial support to someone who cheated on them. The laws follow this understanding and allow judges to grant no alimony to the wife or husband who cheated on their significant other. Of course, in order for the judge to make such a decision, there has to be evidence and the adultery must be proved. According to Tennessee divorce laws, property division is normally not directly affected by adultery; however, the cheating spouse might still get fewer assets if it is proved that he or she spent family money on their affair. But remember that adultery must be proved; otherwise, the court will turn to equitable distribution.
Full package of documents
100% court approval
Up-to-date formsCheck eligibility